The Kate Smith Evening Hour (musical variety)

     [not to be confused with "The Kate Smith Hour" afternoon show]

     (NBC Primetime, 1951 - 1952)

Opening Theme 1: "God Bless America"

    [Verified as opening theme by collector Ray Clark;
     Irving Berlin wrote the song originally as a Song of Victory
     in 1918 while serving in the Army; In 1938 when Hitler came into
     power, Berlin decided to revise the lyrics as a Song of Peace;
     Kate Smith made it her signature song on radio and TV series,
     and its popularity soared. 
     Later Berlin donated profits from the song to a "God Bless 
     America Fund", to distribute to the Boy Scouts and Girl 
     Scouts of America.]

     Composer: Irving Berlin (ASCAP)
              [professional name of Israel Isidore Baline]

     Original Publisher: Irving Berlin Music Corp. (ASCAP)

     1997 Publisher: Irving Berlin Music Corp. (ASCAP)
                        of New York, NY
     2010 Publisher: Irving Berlin Music Corp. (ASCAP),
                        division of Williamson Music Co., 
                        of New York, NY

     Composition Date: 1918, revised lyrics in 1938.

     Copyright Date: Oct. 27, 1938; Eu 180 420.

Opening Theme 2: "Kate Smith Evening Theme"

    [Theme verified in correspondence with composer 3/17/82 who
     wrote, "All my themes had the same name as the show"]

     Composer: Harry Sosnik (ASCAP)

     Original Publisher: Harbet Music Publishing Co. (ASCAP)

     1997 Publisher: [no listing in ASCAP Repertoire]

     Copyright Date:

Closing Theme: "May The Good Lord Bless And Keep You"

    [Also used as the closing theme on the radio series "The Big Show"
     on which Meredith Willson was the music director; The show closed with
     its star, Miss Tallulah Bankhead, singing it in her inimitable husky voice;
     Then when the "Big Show" migrated to television as a short-lived series
     entitled "The Big Party" hosted by Rock Hudson, Mz Bankhead also sang it
     to close that show as well.
     This song became a standard -- recorded by Frankie Laine, 
     Perry Como and Jim Reeves, among others.]
     Composer: Meredith Willson (ASCAP)

     1978 Publisher: MCA, Inc. (ASCAP)
     1997 Publisher: MCA, Inc. (ASCAP)
     2000 Publishers: Frank Music Corp. (ASCAP)
                         of New York, NY; and
                      Meredith Willson Music (ASCAP)
                         c/o Frank Music Corp. (ASCAP)
                         of New York, NY
     2010 Publishers: Frank Music Corp. (ASCAP)
                        c/o MPL Communications Inc., 
                        New York; and
                      Meredith Willson Music (ASCAP)
                        Los Angeles, CA

     Published Copyright Date: Dec. 26, 1950; EP  51 685.
     Published Renewal   Date: Feb. 13, 1978; RE-000-430.

Return to the 1950s TV Series Title Page

Copyright 1960 - 2018 by The Media Management Group. All Rights Reserved